Office Location:

2516 W. Rohmann Avenue 

West Peoria, IL 61604

Phone: (309) 674-0462

Fax:  (309) 674-3912


Office Hours are:

Tuesday & Thursday

9 AM to 12 PM


The Township Meeting is held at the Township Office on the 2nd Monday of the month at 6:30 PM




Sharon Kennedy


Matt Dillon

Cindy Volk
James Flynn
Clark Abraham
Keith Morrell


Peoria Township began in 1908 with J.H. Kingsburg as the Supervisor.


The beginning Township was considered Peoria Township. Only 25 families lived in Peoria in 1833, and by 1844 the population increased to 1,619. 


The legislature passed a charter act incorporating the City of Peoria and gave the Township the name "Town of Peoria". As the City of Peoria grew and incorporated more area, the original Town of Peoria, commonly referred to as “West Peoria”, receded in area.


This area today has its own Township Officials, maintains its own lighting district, and has its own fire district. To eliminate confusion between the name ‘City of Peoria’ and ‘Town of Peoria' on October 14, 1969, the ‘Town of Peoria’ legally became 'West Peoria Township'. The Township today encompasses approximately the same boundaries and is included in the City of West Peoria.  

The Township handles the general assistance needs of residents. Annual events may include Memorial Day Service and the Clean-Up Day in the spring.